Thank you.

{{gwi:466096}}

{{gwi:466098}}

Xuan

Comments (10)

• splinter1804
    14 years ago

Hi xuan,
    I would say the first one is a Vriesea and the second a Guzmania, as for their individual names, I'll leave that to our GW experts in this area.

All the best, Nev.

• haxuan
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you, Nev.
    I was waiting for more people to chim in... but...Well...
    Thanks again.

Xuan

• splinter1804
    14 years ago

Hi Xuan,
    Don't give up just yet, you still could get more feedback. What about you pinkbroms,can you help?

All the best, Nev.

• sdandy
    14 years ago

Yeah, sorry Xuan, I'm a beginner and really am not good at vrieseas and guzmanias. Also commercial hybrids aren't necessarily registered or even published. Did they come with any tags that had what nursery or anything like that? Sometimes the original nursery will have lists of the hybrids that they grow.

• janspride
    14 years ago

Hi Xuan, I am pretty sure the second one is guzmania mango. The first one looks like vriesea splendens, but I'm not positive of that. Has the red spike opened up with any yellow flowers from the side/ If so, that will identify it better. ALl the best, Jan

• coffeemom
    14 years ago

Good morning haxuan. If the first one is an amazing goldish orange and yellow,it's like the one I bought this year marked "vriesea hybrid". Sorry, no help.
    I have to tell you the words on your My Page are words to live by.
    "In fact, if I can't visit my garden for a day, I'll feel miserable !"
    I totally agree and am off to "walk the garden".

• splinter1804
    14 years ago

Hi janspride,
    Welcome to our friendly forum. It's great to see another Aussie join our ranks.

Where abouts are you in Aus? I'm on the coast south of Sydney are you by chance anywhere near there?

I hope you have a very enjoyable time on our forum, all the best, Nev.

• janspride
    14 years ago