Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gailqld_gw

Confirming IDs

gailqld
14 years ago

I'm still learning the different broms and I would just like to confirm the ID on these more common ones.

I'm fairly sure the first 2 are Neo concentrica but not sure about the 3rd one. They are all planted in different parts of the garden and get varying amounts of sun

{{gwi:466713}}

{{gwi:466714}}

{{gwi:466715}}

thanks.

Comments (15)

• LisaCLV
    14 years ago

Are those not all the same, gailqld? They look like they could be, particularly #1 and #3, but it's hard to say for sure.

I would not rush to label any of them Neo. concentrica. You're probably right in assuming there is some concentrica heritage there, but there are so many different forms of the species and so many similar looking concentrica hybrids that determining that what you have is actually the true species and not a hybrid is a very difficult call to make.

The reddish fingernails are making me think hybrid, unless the camera is reading the color wrong.

• matt15
    14 years ago

Yes they are all the same. Different shades of light has affected the way they have coloured.
    As for ID.... i'm guessing Neo "GeeWhiz" perhaps but honestly have no clue.

• rickta66
    14 years ago

Gail,

Your Neos look similar to some in my garden, most of mine are Alan Freeman hybrids which are pretty common in southern Qld, a lot of mine are just labelled AF Hyb and I think they would be difficult to accurately put a name to.

Number 3 does look a little like one of my plants labelled GeeWhiz.

Cheers,

Rick

• gailqld
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks. I'll go out and check the colouring on the fingernails later when it is light enough but I know the top one is a very dark purple colouring.