Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomas_gw

ID help on this vriesea

tomas
14 years ago

It grows in my friend's garden, he probably acquired it as a houseplant many years ago, now it's quite large, maybe 1 meter. Any idea what it could be?

Thanks

Tomas

{{gwi:470821}}

Comments (11)

• splinter1804
    14 years ago

Hi Tomas,

To me it certainly looks like a Vriesea of the patterned foliage type, and similar to an unregistered hybrid I have called Vr. Ensiformis x Red Chestnut. (sorry about the finger in the pic)

There are other members on this forum with much more knowledge of Vrieseas than I, so no doubt you will get an answer.

{{gwi:470823}}

All the best, Nev.

• graykiwi
    14 years ago

Tomas,

I was going thru some older posts (I am a newbie to the tribe)..not sure why you didn't get any other responses to this?...Looks to me like you have the species Vriesea fosteriana there....or if it's not, it's a very good hybrid of it ??

VF can grow large, over 1M (most cultivars and hybrids using it like Nev's are a little smaller). There is also a "Rubra" (red/white) version of it that is common (down under anyway). If you put it in much more light and feed it a little, you should get much better markings on it.

Hope that helps..

Cheers
    Graeme

• vriesea
    14 years ago