Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brodklop

Pollinating Guzmania sanguinea

brodklop
13 years ago

Can anyone give me some tips on pollinating Guzmania sanguinea. I just bought one from our local brom society meeting and it's begining to flower. The inner leaves are red, the flowers have yet to develop but are in bud form at the bottom of the tank.

Questions that come to mind are, is this a night time pollinating plant and can a single plant pollinate it's self - ie does it need another plant to successfully pollinate.

I am new to pollination and any help would be appreciated.

Thank you

Comments (22)

• brodklop
    Original Author
    13 years ago
  • vriesea
    13 years ago

Hi Brodklop ,well in order to get seed from your Guz,sanguinea you need 2 plants as all but one variety are self sterile , ( the form thats not sterile is the small dark brown reddish form ) so unless you can get a second plant that is in flower ? dont bother ,in if you do a crossing with a different Guz or vriesea or Tillandsia you will not inherit the beautifull red and yellow coloration ,sorry but thats it
    Jack

• brodklop
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks Vriesea for your response. I know someone who has one in flower at the moment. Her plant is from the same batch as mine. Maybe we can swap pollen.
    Looking at the FCBS site Guzmania sanguinea and Guzmania sanguinea var. brevipedicellata look very similar. From what I have read the size of mine seems to fit the var. brevipedicellata dimentions. What is the small dark brown reddish forms name. Does it have a variety name.
    I'll try and post a photo. I made a mess of my last attempt.

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:474108}}

• pinkbroms
    13 years ago

Hi Guys