Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lovebromeliads

Just a few questions

lovebromeliads
14 years ago

Its rainy season in south florida and my bromeliad pots on my patio got soaked through and has been for a week or so. i know its not a good thing, so i dumped out as much water as i can but the soil is still soggy. should i not keep water in the cup while i try to dry the soil? do i need to worry about the soaked soil or does anyone have tips on a speedy drying solution...

...Also i have mushrooms growing in my pots. Is that bad? Good? should i remove them when i see them? some are white and some are a brilliant yellow.

...May be a silly question but can you plant an epiphyte in a pot?

Thanks for the help, i am new at this.

Marla

Comments (5)

• Minxie
    14 years ago

Many of the bromeliads in your pots are epiphyte. Good air circulation should help dry the soil out

• sdandy
    14 years ago

Hi Marla, welcome to the forum. If you stay around long enough you will learn all kinds of stuff here. But to your question/problem. If the potting mix is fairly heavy and not drying out well, just pull the broms out and shake or pull all of the soil off (at least for tank-type bromeliads). You can either put them in better draining mix or just leave them out of soil for a while. Often times I leave plants just sitting in an empty pot for months when pulling pups or getting plants from others. It might not be ideal for their roots, but most aren't completely reliant on roots anyways. It sure helps keep them from rotting from the base. Just one thought/method. Others will probably have other suggestions. A more passive idea is to set the pots on small rocks, pebbles, or something to lift them off the ground so the bottom of the pot can drain freely (and definitely don't have saucers under them).
    -andy

• neomea
    14 years ago

Hi All