Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
udo69

Need some help about Werauhia.

udo69
14 years ago

Hello Everyone,

My Werauhia sanguinolenta rubra now start flowering. I'm new to this wing seed type broms. and need some advise about how to pollinate it. I don't have any Tillandsoideae flowering except some grey leaved Till.

My questions are:

- Can I pollinate my Werauhia with grey leaved Till.?

- When is the proper time to pollinate? When is the pistil acceptable?

- Do anybody have experience about this plants and what the result is?

Many people here introduce some threads about Vriesia hybrids. That brings me around that nice broms. Hope I have a good luck. LOL.

Cheers

Yong

Comments (10)

• LisaCLV
    14 years ago

Yong, this Werauhia blooms at night, I'm not sure exactly what time, and in my experience it always self-pollinates. You would probably have better luck using it as a pollen parent, but maybe somebody out there has tried emasculating it and pollinating it?

• allan4519
    14 years ago

Hi Yong, I have not pollinated the Werauhia sanguinolenta rubra, though grow it and have found many of these night flowers, can be pollinated at dusk or as soon as pollen is ripe.
    Many are self fertile and will set seed with their own pollen, though have found many broms will freely pollinate with in the same genera even between genera, so if you have a choice Vriesea or Tillandsia then try it and hopefully it will set lots of seed.
    Was surprised how easy it is to produce bi generic seed, on a range of bromeliads. ie Guzmania with Vriesea, Nidularium with Aechmea, Neoregelia with Aechmea.
    Allan

• vriesea
    14 years ago