Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brom_adorer

I need the expert on Neoregelia 'Blushing Tiger'

brom_adorer
14 years ago

I bought two of these from different sellers, mail order, so sight unseen. They appear to be quite different.

The one on the left stays almost golden with tiger stripes and blushes when in flower, where as the one on the right has a pinkish hue always, and doesn't seen to brighten up much on flowering. Could the one on the right be Neoregelia 'Gympie Delight'?

They are side by side, and receiving the same cultural treatment, so by rights, should look more alike, don't you think? Also, both are last summers pups, removed at the same time, and the same size.

B_A

{{gwi:476004}}

{{gwi:476006}}

mmmmm, my pots need cleaning!

Comments (50)

• paul_t23
    14 years ago

Hi B_A, I'm no expert on these, but have both BT and what I bought as Gympie Delight. The one on the left certainly looks like a BT grown in medium light (background colour would be more orange in bright light).

The one on the right looks to be a bit of a puzzle. It looks too pink for a BT and sort-of looks like Gympie Delight, but the Gympie Delight I have (also grown next to a BT)is distinctly mauve-ish rather than pink-ish . Maybe you have the real Gympie Delight and I don't. Or maybe there are few different but similar-ish clones from the Gympie Delight cross floating around. Or maybe we both have Gympie Delight and the differences between our two plants are cultural?

Interested in anyone else's thoughts. Cheers, Paul

• Minxie
    14 years ago

Your expert is on this forum and I am sure she will comment. There is also "Unblushing Tiger"

• LisaCLV
    14 years ago

I guess that's my cue. ;-)