Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vriesea

Vriesea 'white Opal'

vriesea
14 years ago

Hi Gang ,for those that are interested in hybridizing here's another Vr.fenestralis hybrid .sorry about the small size of photos i must try to work out how to get them bigger .looks like i did Jack

{{gwi:476847}}

Comments (14)

• splinter1804
    14 years ago

Hi Jack,

Another of your many striking plants; I love the fine pattern on the foliage. Does the colour intensify when it flowers?

You seem to have mastered the art of posting pictures, so we expect so many more from you now.

Eagerly awaiting your next pic's, all the best, Nev.

• paul_t23
    14 years ago

Jack, just lovely. I'm no expert, but those rounded leaves and soft warm colours seem to set it apart from other ones I've seen with those fine tesselations. Please feel free to keep them coming! Cheers, Paul

• jaga
    14 years ago

Without cheating to see if it is registered my guess is Vr Fosteriana Red Chestnut x Vr Gigantea ??

• vriesea
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Hi Jaga ,you're close ,sort of, the cross is Vr.'kakadu' = (fenestralis x fosteriana) x gigantea 'seideliana'(nova) its not often that i use it as i have explained but that cross seemed trouble free.its just now starting to get some pink on the top ,see how it develops and may post a later picture,thank you all for the complamentarey remarks,Jack

• kerry_t_australia
    14 years ago

Another beauty, Jack! What about showing some others of your 'Opal' series?

umm J+A... read Jack's first sentence again, regards mention of one parent.

K

• brom_adorer
    14 years ago

Gosh Jack, you're eyes must ache from looking at all the lovely plants in your collection. Keep up the good work, and beautiful photography, too!
    BA

• matt15
    14 years ago

Jack you have some amazing V's mate. The markings on the leaves are just stunning.

• udo69
    14 years ago