Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
neomea

How to get pups to form closer to the top

neomea
14 years ago

Hi all

Below is one of my seedlings that has developed quite a nice broad band down the leaf lately. I would like to keep that trait. How do I go about forcing the plant to pup more to the top of the rosette? I plan on cutting out the flower before it forms (I dont have any plans to pollinate), but from there I am clueless....

Any advice would be appreciated as I have a few other plants with some nicely variegated leaves to the top of the rosette and plain green leaves toward the base.

{{gwi:477531}}

Comments (13)

• catkim
    14 years ago

Mmmm, maybe I am clueless, but I don't think it matters where the pup forms. Lots of neos have the green leaves below and top leaves that color up as the plant approaches bloom. Any pup should (I think) be a clone that goes through the same life process of green youth and more colorful reproductive age. But I am no expert by any means! That is a lovely plant and all your offsets should develop very similar characteristics.

• catkim
    14 years ago

Meant to add I will be interested to hear from those with experience if one can force pups higher in the plant and thus change the plant characteristics. Interesting question.

• LisaCLV
    14 years ago

Kim, I think what Dennis is referring to here is not the coloration of the clone in general, but the differing width of the white stripes on some of the leaves. There is often a correlation between the degree or pattern of variegation of a pup and the leaf axil from which it emerges.

Dennis, is your plant anywhere near blooming? If it is, it may be very difficult to encourage pupping that near the cup. If you can get a lot more foliage growth on it before it blooms, that leaf base will be in a better position. You could remove all other pups below it as they start to form, and try to force it to pup from that leaf axil.