Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paul_t23

Vr. Nova in hybridising?

paul_t23
14 years ago

Hi everyone,

I thought I'd start a new thread with this, but it was triggered by a comment from Jack Koning in one of the other postings that Vr. gigantea var seideliana ('Nova')had some issues associated with it when used as a parent.

I had been planning to try and use Nova in some breeding, but I'm a complete novice at this and I'd love to find out a whole lot more about Nova as a parent, especially since my current knowledge is zero except that that I have noticed there are bits of it in the backgound of some nice Hawaiian crosses and a few others.

So Jack, if you find this I'd be really interested in your thoughts, plus comments from anyone else would be very welcome.

Cheers, Paul

Comments (36)

• jaga
    14 years ago

Hi Paul,
    Vr Gigantea var seideliana (Nova) has been used very sucessfully here in NZ and everywhwere else as far as I know. We have ours growing outside all year round and dont seem to have any rot problems with the clones here. It s dark here so you will have to wait till tomorrow when I will take a few pics showing some crosses but here's one pic Vr Nova x Red Chestnut. grows to about 1m in diameter

{{gwi:481031}}

I have got several crosses in there infancy and seem to be no harder to grow than any other vriesea from seed. Will get the camera into action in the morning.

• jaga
    14 years ago

Paul,
    Found some pics I must have loaded on to other posts,

Our Vr Gigantea var seideliana,
    {{gwi:481033}}
    Some of Andrew maloy hybrids a few years back,
    Vr 'Nova Pink beauty'
    {{gwi:442802}}

Vr 'Nova Grace'
    {{gwi:442805}}

Vr 'Fire Commet' - Nova x PhipoCoburgii
    {{gwi:442800}}

• vriesea
    14 years ago