Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brom_adorer

Do we have a crack Billbergia expert in the forum?

brom_adorer
14 years ago

I'd like to have a couple of Billys ID'd please.

{{gwi:484946}}

{{gwi:484947}}

it has a bit of a branch lower down the flower spike

{{gwi:484948}}

Leaf

{{gwi:484950}}

That was number one, heres nuber two.

{{gwi:484952}}

{{gwi:484954}}

Thanks in advance.

BA

Comments (3)

• LisaCLV
    14 years ago

I'm no Bill expert, but I've seen enough to recognize B. vittata genes in #1. I can't be sure if it's a form of the species or a hybrid, but my guess would be hybrid. Check the FCBS search results below and draw your own conclusions. Calophylla looks like a possibility. You can run the search the other way too. These are just ones with vittata as seed parent.

#2 looks like Louise.

Here is a link that might be useful: B. vittata cvs. & hybrids

• brom_adorer
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks lisa. They are all very similar aren't they? I agree that B. vittata is definitely in there. I guess I will have to be content with that, and maybe I'll just label it as a B. vittata hybrid for future reference.
    Thanks for the name on number 2 also. The name rings a bell, as I knew it had a womans name, I just couldn't remember it. Thanks again Lisa. ps, I like b.'colores'
    bA

• LisaCLV
    14 years ago

BA, Colores is a cultivar of B. vittata that I believe was named by Don Beadle. At any rate, I got mine from him. I only sent in that funky old scanned photo at the request of the registrar, who noticed I had submitted a hybrid made with it (B. YouTube) for registration, and BCR lacked a photo in its database.