Return to the Bromeliad Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Do we have a crack Billbergia expert in the forum?

Posted by brom_adorer Mid-North Coast, NSW (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 2, 09 at 5:28

I'd like to have a couple of Billys ID'd please.
Billbergia
Billbergia
it has a bit of a branch lower down the flower spike
Billbergia
Leaf
Photobucket

That was number one, heres nuber two.
Billbergia
Billbergia
Thanks in advance.
BA

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Do we have a crack Billbergia expert in the forum?

I'm no Bill expert, but I've seen enough to recognize B. vittata genes in #1. I can't be sure if it's a form of the species or a hybrid, but my guess would be hybrid. Check the FCBS search results below and draw your own conclusions. Calophylla looks like a possibility. You can run the search the other way too. These are just ones with vittata as seed parent.

#2 looks like Louise.

Here is a link that might be useful: B. vittata cvs. & hybrids

o

Thanks lisa. They are all very similar aren't they? I agree that B. vittata is definitely in there. I guess I will have to be content with that, and maybe I'll just label it as a B. vittata hybrid for future reference.
Thanks for the name on number 2 also. The name rings a bell, as I knew it had a womans name, I just couldn't remember it. Thanks again Lisa. ps, I like b.'colores'
bA

o

BA, Colores is a cultivar of B. vittata that I believe was named by Don Beadle. At any rate, I got mine from him. I only sent in that funky old scanned photo at the request of the registrar, who noticed I had submitted a hybrid made with it (B. YouTube) for registration, and BCR lacked a photo in its database.