Return to the Bromeliad Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bromelaid dying

Posted by rgolden1125 none (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 18, 13 at 9:57

Hey all!

I'm new to bromeliads. I bought my first about a month ago. Last night I was moving the little guy and the entire top part of the plant just kinda fell off... Pretty sure its either crown rot or root rot. Smells funky and it was mush where everything met. I have two leaves left and what I'm assuming is the crown of the plant? Is there anyway its salvageable to at least get pups? Pretty sure it's a Vriesea. The flower is/was yellow and red. Also wondering what caused this and how I can prevent this from happening in the future.

This post was edited by rgolden1125 on Wed, Aug 21, 13 at 22:44

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bromelaid dying

Too much water? How often did you water it.
You can spray with a fungicide but make sure it is one without copper. May be lucky.

This post was edited by sunshine_qld on Wed, Aug 21, 13 at 4:27

o

It was watered probably twice in the last month? maybe three times? Is that too much?

I will try the fungicide. Anything to recommend? I have neem oil handy.

o

A picture would be better. It could have been sick when you bought it and just now showing the damage.

o

Here's a picture of the half that broke off...

o

And here is what's left of the base of the plant. Both these pictures were taken right after the top broke off :(

o

Does that red dish you have the stand in hold water?
I would put it aside, and hopefully it may send out a couple of pups.

o

Ahhh yes.There wasn't much water in the dish after watering but that would make sense nonetheless. Thank you for bringing that to my attention. Ill ditch the dish. Any way I could help the poor lil guy? (other than letting it dry out and not watering lol)

o

Thats about all you can do now. If the potting mix is very soggy maybe repot it.

o
RE: Bromeliad dying