Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dashgogo

Identification: Billbergias (I think)

dashgogo
14 years ago

Hi, I'm new to this- my first picture upload attempt. I have a small collection now, and I have taken a liking to billbergias in particular, problem is, I am not to great at identification. Below are some plants, a couple of which I have not seen flower, so am not sure if they are even billbergias or not. Any help would be great.

1) Picked up at a market:

{{gwi:492367}}

{{gwi:492369}}

2) Same market:

{{gwi:492370}}

3) This one looks a bit simple, but I liked the shape, I bought it from Bromagic in QLD. It wasn't marked- I should have asked.

{{gwi:492371}}

4) This one is a bit raggy looking, but I liked the pattern on the leaves, hopefully I can grow a pup that looks a little healthier:

{{gwi:492372}}

{{gwi:492373}}

5)I don't know what this is, had a few things going on with the leaves though.

{{gwi:492375}}

{{gwi:492377}}

Thanks a bundle.

Comments (6)

• rickta66
    14 years ago

dashgogo,

#1 looks like one I've got, I think it is a Vittata hyb possibly Bill. Buchholtzii.

#2 looks a little like my Bill. Othello. or maybe Bill. Muriel Waterman.

#5 is varigated, it could be a varigated Neo. Spectabilis.

Cheers,

Rick

• dashgogo
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Ahhh. Thanks, I'm convinced #2 is a Muriel Waterman now, having checked the index. And number #1 must certainly be a Vittata hyb. Though it looks a lot more like the original Vittata then Buchholtzii, it's quite grey, both the top and bottom of the leaves.

I thought number #5 was a neo as well but the woman at a sale a bought it from convinced me it produced a 'white flower', on a long stem. But she may have just been trying to have me buy it.

Will either of these self-set seed to the best of any one's knowledge? From wha I have heard so far it is unlikely. I desperatley just want to have a go at growing some Billbergias, any Billbergia, from seed.

• rickta66
    14 years ago