Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jake579

looking for specific info on each tilandsia species

jake579
9 years ago

Hello all :) first off I'd like to say thank you for reading this, second I would like to note I'm new to the tilandsia world although I know the general dos and donts. I have about ten different species of tilandsia and I do know the names, of all except two. I would like to know some species specific information to better help me care for these plants. if anyone knows some info or thinks they do ill type up some names lol thanks again - jake
P.s. I'm from maine so they live inside for 10 months out of the year.

Comments (10)

• hotdiggetydam
    9 years ago

I know this might not be much help...but the best source is where you bought/got them if they were healthy

• jake579
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I bought them from an online shop, the most info they had given me was rather generalized and only talked about origins....which I guess could help fill in the extra spaces if I sat and thought about the climates. they are all healthy as far as I can see, I only lost one of the ten I bought due to rot...prolly my fault anyways lol.

• jake579
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I bought them from an online shop, the most info they had given me was rather generalized and only talked about origins....which I guess could help fill in the extra spaces if I sat and thought about the climates. they are all healthy as far as I can see, I only lost one of the ten I bought due to rot...prolly my fault anyways lol.

• rpwalton
    9 years ago

I don't know of any site with specific culture info for each species...
    That comes from your own experience, or can be gleaned from studying the native climate of that species as you mentioned.
    Your biggest challenge is growing them indoors 83% of the year....
    I would think that would require supplemental lighting for starters.
    Peyton

• debbyabq
    9 years ago