Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hotdiggetydam

Starting Neo from seed

hotdiggetydam
16 years ago

We are having a discussion here about starting seeds

Issue is better to start in the deep shade or bright light?

If started in the deep shade, how long before exposure to bright light?

Also when do you start feeding the seedlings weak liquid fertilizer(we agree on the fert strength but not when)?

Comments (16)

• avane_gw
    16 years ago

HDD, I am no expert, but as far as I know, neoregelias require bright light to germinate. That is why they are never covered with growing medium but needs to be on top to get as much light as possible! I am still experimenting with the fertilizer, but I start using weak doses as soon as I need to start watering the seedlings. I try to keep them in sealed containers for about 3 - 4 weeks. Japie

• barbcoleus
    16 years ago

Thanks! This is exactly the information I need and you have comparable sunlight, temperature and rainfall.

• sander_s
    16 years ago

Thank you Lisa.

That's like a complete manual!
    Awesome.

Sander

• avane_gw
    16 years ago

A stunning training manual indeed, Sander! Thanks Lisa!! I obviously have to do it a little different as I am not living in a hothouse. That is why I like to seal my seal my containers. So that both heat and moisture can be trapped. I fortunately do not have a problem with algae. Here are some cruenta seedlings (sown 27 June). They are now exposed to being uncovered and outside daily but still get covered at night, mainly for the sake of snails. And as you can see, no sign of algae yet - and I do not treat to prevent it. Maybe later in the year when it gets warmer it will be a problem
    {{gwi:494282}}

• hotdiggetydam
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you Lisa..I knew those questions would get good answers from you :))

• bob740
    16 years ago

Hi Lisa,