Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amayon

my bromeliad is dying!

amayon
19 years ago

I am not experienced with this sort of plant and this is my first one. I have had it for nearly a year and the past month the very topmost red leaves are dying from the bottom up. nearly the whole top 3rd of the red part is now dried up and died. It gets indirect light all day and gets water in the base and a little in the soil every 3 days and fertilizer in the soil once a month. can someone explain why its doing this and if it can be saved? Thanks!

Comments (4)

• madabouteu
    19 years ago

It sounds as though your plant has bloomed, and now is doing what comes naturally - dying. There should be offsets coming from around the base, probably just within the bases of the outermost leaves. Your culture sounds OK, except that bromeliads need very little or no fertilizer. Too much fertilizer can hurt the plant.

If there are no offsets, don't let this discourage you. Most broms are very easy to keep - please try again! Try to find Aechmea fasciata or Neoregelia carolinae - they are very commonly offered for sale in all sorts of outlets and are very tough. Vrieseas are also often offered, and are almost as tough but do want indirect light (no full sun) and humidity. Guzmanias are also often seen for sale, but I do not recommend them for beginners.

Kenneth Quinn

• amayon
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Are you serious? Every bromeliad I get then, will bloom and then die? none will actually keep living? Maybe im just not understanding you right LOL. I got mine from a grocery store, probably not the best place, and since then I have been looking at nurseries around here for more, but none have any. Where could I get more? I just love the one I have, its beautiful! (or at least, it WAS)

Thanks for the help!

• daveandlaura
    19 years ago