Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tropicbreezent

Brom ID

tropicbreezent
11 years ago

I've been off and on with this forum, mainly answering queries on pineapples which I've been growing for many years. Other Bromeliads I'm not so good on. This is one that I have growing on the edge of a garden bed bordered with rock (lateritic rock to be a little more precise). You can see one of the spent inflorescences behind the new flowers coming. It developed seed pods but they seem to be empty. Not surprising as we don't have the pollinators here. My question is for the ID, at least at genus level, and also just where is the best location for it. There's some small slightly yellow blotches on the leaves which I don't think are normal. So I was wondering whether I should have it up in a tree or on a log. I'm thinking the soil may not be entirely agreeing with the plant. Any comments greatly appreciated, thanks.

Comments (4)

• splinter1804
    11 years ago

Hi tropicbreezent - Your plant is a Billbergia. However which one it is I can't say as they come in many different sizes shapes and colours. As for the spotting; well this is quite common in some Billbergias, while some just have plain foliage. Others may have a type of barring on the underside of the leaves and still other may be variegated. It's hard to say if the spotting on your plant is caused by the soil it's growing in or is just natural for that particular plant or even a combination of the two.

As for your other question about whether you should have it mounted on a tree, well I think that's just a matter of personal taste. I have them growing in the garden; in pots, and mounted on trees and they are all growing happily. However the pendulous type of inflorescence does lend itself more to being tree mounted and is certainly better to view when grown in this manner.

All the best, Nev.

• tropicbreezent
    Original Author
    11 years ago