Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lraley

A newbie here. Need some help!!!

lraley
12 years ago

I have just purchased my first few Bromeliads. Now I need your help in planting them....I usually put plants in regular potting soil bought in a large bag. I wanted to plant my Brom's in pots so I could put them in the green house over the winter (I live in zone 8). What is the best compost mixture for planting (I saw somewhere to mix with pine bark)....Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (6)

• hotdiggetydam
    12 years ago

Well draining soil. Many orchid mixes work very well.

• splinter1804
    12 years ago

Hi everyone,

Iraley - There are as many different potting mixes for bromeliads as there are growers. Everyone has their own special mix which they say is the best, but it's up to the individual grower to make/buy a mix that suites their own environmental requirements.

HDD hit it right on the head with those two words "well draining". That's the basis of all good bromeliad mixes.

If you consider what type of bromeliads you are growing, they will be mainly from one of two groups; those that "in habitat" grow on trees or rocks, and those that grow in the soil.

I can't advise on the ones that grow in the soil as I don't grow those types, but the ones that grow on trees have good air circulation around the roots continually. If we put one of these in a pot we need to make sure that the mix is open and well draining so air can still get to the roots as well.

Here in Australia there is a cymbidium orchid mix which I have found very good. It's just very simply, aged composted pine bark. It's free draining and will last the life of the plant until it requires repotting and is reasonably priced.

If you want to make your own mix; Pine bark, charcoal, polystyrene granules, Perlite, Coco-Peat chunks and many other different ingredients are all used in various ratios in mixes throughout the country, with pine bark usually being the basis of the mix.