Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
coco_nut_gw

Pineapple Growing Question - Strange Occurance

coco-nut
11 years ago

I like growing pineapples. My favorite thing to grow. I planted a pineapple top as I normally do and strange enough two pineapple plants are growing from one top. I have been growing for years and a couple of years ago I noticed this happening to a few tops that I have planted but being lazy and busy I did not take care of the plants and they died out. I then this summer decided to plant some and take care of these plants this time. Well one of the two I planted the same thing happened, one top planted and two pineapple plants are starting to grow from that one top. The other top I planted I am not sure about because it's just got one plant growing and is about a month younger so only time will tell.

Do any of you who plant pineapples have this happen where one top will produce two plants? Like I say only a few years ago did I notice this happening but the plants never fruited due to neglect, this time this is happening I want to see it all the way through and see how the pineapples look. But prior to a few years ago this never happened, never but all of a sudden it's happening a lot. I wonder if these are tops from genetically engineered pineapples that's why the new plants from the tops are like this.

Thanks,

James

Comments (13)

• tropicbreezent
    11 years ago

I've seen photos of pineapple fruit with multiple tops, all fairly small, but I thought they were more an ornamental one. Obviously they're around now, what was rhe fruit like? Have no idea whether they might be GM. All mine have single tops but the parent plants usually get multiple pups after fruiting.

• coco-nut
    Original Author
    11 years ago