Return to the Bromeliad Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie with ornamental pineapple plant

Posted by stephiepoopy SF, CA (My Page) on
Wed, Nov 6, 13 at 3:40

Hello everyone! I am a newbie to this forum..and a newbie to the world of gardening too. A few months ago, in late May, I bought a cute little ornamental pineapple plant from Trader Joe's. I left it alone, rarely watered it, and placed it under grow lights that my father uses to grow tomatoes. Now, this week, I noticed that my pineapple plant has turned very yellow. I didn't anticipate this! I compared it to old pictures that I took when I first got it, and it sure has grown! Does anyone know if I have to harvest the fruit now? What will happen to my plant if I do or do not harvest the fruit? I have grown attached to the little thing and wish I wouldn't have to harvest the fruit. I am afraid I will harvest it incorrectly (I have a bad track record of killing plants, even killing succulents within a month of owning them) and then kill my poor plant. Please help. Thank you!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie with ornamental pineapple plant

I'm afraid your plant will die after you harvest the fruit. It will have nothing to do with your technique. You may be lucky enough to get ratoons - babies - to produce new plants and fruit, just like other broms.

I've had success in rooting the crown of a grocery store pineapple and enjoying the small fruit it produced. But alas, I did not get any suckers. So when it died, it died.

Here is a link that might be useful: Pineapple plant after harvest

o