Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lovelyiris

Need Help from those with knowledge.

lovelyiris
15 years ago

As some of you might recall I've recently purchased a few different Bromeliads. I now have 15 different ones. LOL

My problem is that it has been rather cold here the past few days. So I moved my broms out of the greenhouse into the house. I was afraid that it might get too cold in the greenhouse for them.

My question is this. Can I keep these sun loving broms in the house next to a window with extra lighting? Should I mist them a couple of times a day so they don't dry out from the heat inside the house? How much water should I keep in the cups?

Since I'm new to growing them I don't want them to croak over the winter. I want to keep them going strong so I can't plant them outside in baskets and such this spring.

Needless to say I'm hooked and I just have to have more. LOL

Someone from South Texas wrote me an email, if you read this would you please email me again and tell me what all broms you have? I think I'll be buying a few each month to add to my collection.

A new brom addict has been created. If anyone knows of someone offering specials or something along that line I would be very interested. I want a bunch of different broms but I have to be able to keep them alive over the winter months or I will not be happy.

Thanks for any and all help.

Happy Gardening, and Happy Thanksgiving!

Marian

Comments (5)

• hotdiggetydam
    15 years ago

The neoregelia will be fine in the greenhouse if you can maintain 40F. The guzmania can go in the house, water the roots and let them dry before watering again. They dont like excessive heat or cold...they are a office or house plant if they came from Lowes or home Depot. Depending on what other genera you have, each is a bit different in their requirements.
    Broms with cups just keep water half full and dump it weekly, replace with fresh water.
    Do you know what genera you have already?

• lovelyiris