Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
haiyoliz

Guzmania needs help!

haiyoliz
9 years ago

This is my first post and sadly it is because I need help with my Guzmania! I'm pretty new to gardening but I'm somehow keeping all of my plants alive. However recently my Guzmania started looking really bad and I don't know what caused it. I have only had it for a month or so. It was doing just fine in low light indoors (it got scorched in bright so I was keeping it away from the window), with well draining soil with drainage holes, I kept it misted and put water around the tray under the decorative pot (so the drainage holes were never touching the water), and kept water in the cup and slightly moist soil.
It was doing fine, but suddenly I started seeing more and more dried brown tips on the brachts. The leaves still look green and healthy, but the brachts are losing color and getting what I believe is leathery. I thought this meant there wasn't enough water or humidity, so I tried to increase humidity and moved it closer to a window for more light.
Did I completely mess this plant up? It was gorgeous and I have no idea what happened! Only thing I can think of is the two day constant rain, made it a little colder and less sunlight? Please help!

BTW the brachts tips look more yellow in the photo (which I guess it might be yellow rather than brown), but some of the very end tips are dry and hard, which is why I thought it was underwater problem rather than over water.

Comments (12)

• splinter1804
    9 years ago

Hi everyone.

haiyoliz - If your plant was in flower when you bought it, there's no way of knowing how long it had already been in flower prior to you getting it.

Given that the green leaves look OK. I would say that it's just a case of the flower dying off after completing it's flowering cycle.

The next thing you should see will be 'offsets' (new growths which are commonly called 'pups') starting to grow from the base of your plant.