Return to the Brugmansia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
my daturas

Posted by Valentina Z5 WI (My Page) on
Sat, Aug 20, 05 at 22:11

Hi,
I am new to daturas and brugmansias. These are my first ones and, I have to say, I have a new addiction :))
And I find you guys responsible for it :)
Because I am also a new gardener (I planted my first plant two years ago, so this would be my second season), I am especially proud of my daturas because I was able to grow such beauties :))

This one is growing with Morning Glory which was supposed to be white.
click here

click here

This one is growing so big! What you see in this picture is actually only half of it. The other half I lost in a storm.
It took over the bench already.
click here

click here

Valentina

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: my daturas

You have incorporated your Datura nicely into your garden, that last one looks like it has been on steroids LOL.
Lovely images.

o

Beautiful Datura's ! They all look like they are on steroids, very lush happy looking plants. Georgia

o

Thank you :)

They are on steroids! Whatever is in the compost :))

Valentina

o

Wow I love your huge Datura inoxia, so many blooms. I can't wait for the day that I have a yard to garden in, there will be Daturas all over the place.

o

Thank you Mike, I love them too. They are such rewarding plants! They look good, they grow fast, they don't get sick, they are fragrant... just amazing plants. And as a bonus for me, in this area, where we don't get so hot in the summer, the flowers stay open a good portion of the day. Now, since the temperature changed and we have cloudy days they are practically open all the time. They are not fragrant during the day, but that's OK.
I just love them.

Oh! And BTW, people stop their cars in front of my yard to admire these plants. They even come to my door to ask me what are they. It is really nice considering that I am a totally new gardener.

Valentina

o

Wow, VERY good, Valentina. Breath-taking!

o