Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rock_oak_deer

Question on cutting

rock_oak_deer
14 years ago

Last fall when I brought the brugs in I stuck several cuttings in potting soil and most of them grew.

On this one, it looks like the original top of the cutting died and the new green sprout is coming out at soil level.

{{gwi:469494}}

I think if I just leave the sprout and cut the dead part back, the new brug might be stunted if it grows out of the old root. Would it be better to cut it off entirely and root it on its own or not?

Thanks so much. Getting ready for spring and I'm still somewhat of a newbie here.

Comments (7)

• sekhment
    14 years ago

I have a few doing the same thing. I'm still rather new at all this but I am leaving mine alone it is very hard for me to start a green cutting. I think it would be super had to start one with just the green tip, so I watch and see aproch works for me lol. Mine have been doing that all winter I have a shreded white that has done that and the whole cutting is dead and it have just one lively green shoot comeing from the base it seem to be fine, like that is has been like that for a long wile now
    good luck
    Cassie

• eloise_ca
    14 years ago

When that happens to me, I just leave what sprouted alone. I am just so darn happy when I see growth from a cutting that appears to be dead!

• karyn1
    14 years ago

I'd leave everything be for now. Once it's outside cut off the dead stem. If you get multiple sprouts from the base you might want to cut all but 1 or 2 and start new plants from them but I'd wait until they are about 12-18" tall and 1/2" in diameter before separating them from the original plant.

• rock_oak_deer
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks Karyn and everyone! No freezes predicted for the near future so they're all going outside today. Will fertilize and wait until they are taking off on their own. For whatever reason almost every brug cutting I take roots.

• marcie_new
    14 years ago