Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
drvongirl

Where Do The Flowers Form?

drvongirl
14 years ago

Hi, I'm new to this forum and I'm so glad I found it. I have become obsessed with the Angel Trumpet!! Last year I bought a cutting, planted it, and while it grew some it never flowered. Since I have been reading information on it, I think I know why it didn't flower. Not enough water, too much intense sunshine and no fertilizer. I kept it inside all winter. Now it is growing again, but I can't seem to figure out where the flowers form from. Where the branch stem is attached I see little nubs. Is that the beginning of a flower? I not where? If this doesn't bloom this year I will be devestated!! Please help!

Comments (7)

• haase
    14 years ago

Hello there, and welcome to this forum.
    About one year ago when I was a total newbie and had only one Brug, I was wondering about the same thing.
    The answer is easy: flowers form only after a so-called "Y" has formed on the tip (top) of the plant. So your plant needs to be of a certain size and mature enough to "split", or divide, into two or three branches, which is the so-called "Y". From there, it will produce its flowers.
    Hope this helped. I'm so pround of myself that, after having delivered a hundred questions on this forum myself, I finally know the answer to one of them
    Happy growing. You will be "hooked" in no time. And don't give up.
    Oh yes, Brugs are known to be water and fertilizer "hores". They will droop, as to tell you that they need water, but will come right back again if you give them some. Morning sun and afternoon shade would be perfect.

Ingrid

• drvongirl
    Original Author
    14 years ago