Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
haase_gw

What if.........

haase
14 years ago

Hello friends.

I have limited space (not like some of you lucky ones who have a yard.)

It's a fenced-in patio, maybe 15 by 15, and my brugs are in large pots.

What would happen to the brugs if, in order to get more color on my patio, I planted some annuals in the brug-pots, like maybe some impatients or lobelia.

I would keep up the watering and fertilizing. But would the roots of the annuals crowd out the brug roots and the brugs would suffer from that?

I would appreciate any advice you could give me. Thank you.

Ingrid

Comments (12)

• threas
    14 years ago

Ingrid, I think it would be fine to plant annuals in the pots.I never have any problems. Not sure if it's bad for the brugs or not though. Lucy had some beautiful ones.

Theresa

• figara
    14 years ago

Ingrid, I agree with Theresa...I do not think will hurt the brugs but I am not an expert, just a newbie.
    Pat

• givelittle_getlots
    14 years ago

Ingrid it would also help the earth from drying out to fast ;-) My favorite to use in there with the brugs that love the fertilizing are Periwinkles.

Lucy

• chena
    14 years ago

It is a Wonderful Thing!!! Under planting works well.. A Great way to slip in a few Herbs as well!!

Kylie

• karyn1
    14 years ago

I usually underplant my brugs as well as grow vines in the containers. I think it's Lucy that had some great pics of her underplanted brugs last season.

• givelittle_getlots
    14 years ago

ok Karyn , now you have me go dig up some picture. But that is ok, since I can not dig outside. Soaking wet everything.
    {{gwi:444832}}From Picture of the day for the year 2009

Ok I found one....and that is why I love under planting

Lucy

• chena
    14 years ago

Beautiful Lucy!!!

• haase
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks, friends. 'Tis gonna be great!
    Lucy, how absolutely wonderful!!!!
    Ingrid

• givelittle_getlots
    14 years ago