Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
socalliegal

new plant

socalliegal
13 years ago

Hello, I am new to being a Brug grower. I bought a shoot at a Rainforest center that was having a sale with bromeliad folks and someone was selling shoots with some tiny growth. So I purchased I think a pink...well I replanted it right away from the tiny container it was in and since then it has not really sprouted that many leaves, and some are yellow..I think it should go into a shadier spot. Some internet links say full sun and then I saw one lady who swore by shade. Any help you can give a virgin brug grower would be appreciated.

Oh by the way I am new to this webby...just joined today...seems there are avid gardeners here..yeah!

Comments (22)

• karyn1
    13 years ago

Hi and welcome. Brugs are actually very easy, low maintenance plants. If the cutting was growing in soil, even if the container was small, you should have left it alone for a week or two. That goes for almost all plants as repotting and transporting them both cause stress. They need at least morning sun or they won't bloom. Some varieties can take more sun then others. They are also very heavy feeders. Your brug is probably shocked. Make sure that you don't overwater it and that it's in a well draining potting mix. Don't fertilize it while it looks iffy but a dose of something like Superthrive or B1 should help. Good luck with your brug.

• socalliegal
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Hi Karyn,
    Thanks for your reply...the cutting did have roots. Hmmm perhaps I have been watering it too much as well. I think I might put it in a shadier spot, cause it's going to be awhile before this has any flowers. The cane is only about 3/8" thick. It is about 2 foot high, and has a sprinkling of leaves, some about 3 inches long. I will give it a little bit of food just a touch.

• karyn1
    13 years ago