Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luvbrugs

what to do for blooming

luvbrugs
13 years ago

how do i get my brugs to bloom?

I have two beautiful plants, but they wont bloom, the foliage is fantastic, and i also have some babies sent by sweet Brenda last year, they are doing fine, but not blooming, any ideas, please?

Comments (11)

• figara
    13 years ago

I am not an expert, I am still learning but I would say... try a bloom buster.

Pat

• haase
    13 years ago

They have to form a so-called "Y" first. Blooms only form after the Y. This is when the tip of a branch suddenly forms into two or three more branches.
    Ingrid

• karyn1
    13 years ago

What zone are you in? Seedlings don't normally bloom until the 2nd season for me. As for your mature plants brugs are heavy feeders. If they aren't getting enough food or sun they probably won't bloom. What conditions are they growing in and how often are you fertilizing them?

• drvongirl
    13 years ago

hi Karyn, when you say heavy feeders what exactly do you mean? Are you saying everytime you water to feed them? I have some superbloom, middle number is 55. Is that alright or should I use something lower? Mine are outside now and here in WA we get a few days sun, then rain. They are on the deck, get sun when we have it but protected by the rain so I water them. Soil is moist since we haven't been getting enough sun to dry the soil which prevents me from fertilizing as often as I can.

• karyn1
    13 years ago

I try to feed mature plants 1x/wk. A bloom booster works well. Yes it has a NPK ratio something like 3:8:3 or 20:50:20, the phosphorus is double the nitrogen and potassium content or you can use a balanced fertilizer. You can also use a very diluted feeding with each watering. Play around and see whatever works for you.

• karyn1
    13 years ago