Return to the Brugmansia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Canna Hybrid pics!

Posted by siam_cannas (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 16, 09 at 9:38

Hey everyone, here are some pics of cannas from my last batch of hybrids. They are not what i was trying for, but i am using them for futher hybridization and then i will get rid of them.
Im going to start more hybrid seeds today. Hope i get something really nice and different :)

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Siam.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Canna Hybrid pics!

Siam those are some pretty cannas..Wowzer neat plants...Brab

o

Siam, I am a novice, so they look good to me, too.

So, what were you looking for or is that a hybridizing secret?? Good luck with your program!

o

Thanks Barb.
Brenda, they are ok cannas, but they are very similar to cannas that are already known. There is alot that goes into considering if it is or isnt a keeper. Leaf colour, height, form of the flowers, self cleaning or not, tillering, strenght of the petals (how well it can withstand rain and sun), size of flower heads.
And also i am specifically interested in getting some stripped petal cannas. And also im trying for a red with white fringe canna.
I still have 500 hybrid seeds to sow, hopefully i should get something extra special from those. Because of limited space i can only grow batches of 75-100 seedlings at a time :(

Like with brugmansias im sure you can tell the difference between a really good one and a not so good one, even though they might be similar.
I dont know anything about brugs really, so i just like the double and triple ones and the really deep coloured ones. I cant actually tell the difference between what is what with brugs lol. :)

o

Siam..Siam! Those are so pretty until it's almost nauseating. So very pretty. You should/must be proud.
I'm planning to put my FEW cannas into the start of my