Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tropicalzone7_gw

Kind of new to brugs, any advice!

tropicalzone7
12 years ago

Hi! This is my first time posting in the Brugmansia Fourm and this is my first year with Brugmansias. I got my first Brug September 2010. I managed to get a bud on it by october and it was close to blooming, but the bud fell off only about 2 days before it would have bloomed. That brug went dormant indoors during the winter and now I have it planted in the ground where it has been doing extremely well. I know that its way too early for blooms, but I just want to make sure that I'm doing everything right so I can get blooms some day!

Heres how I have been caring for them...

I planted my largest Brugmansia in the ground in Mid April. Other than some damaged leaves because of bugs, it has done very well.

I give it lots of water since I hear that they cant get enough of it on hot sunny days. I just started fertilizing them this past week with a 6-4-4 fertilizer. Is this good enough?

The forecast has daytime temperatures in the 80s and (with the exception of tonight) night temperatures in the 60s. The forecast also includes lots of Sunshine and my plants all get full sun from about 11am to 6pm.

Here are a few pics! I have 4 brugmansias. I dont expect my other brugmansias to bloom this year (it would be really great if they do though), but I do expect to at least get a few blooms from my largest brugmansia. Do you all think they will bloom this summer??

Brugmansia "Ember Glow"

{{gwi:507661}}

I lost the ID to this brugmansia

{{gwi:507662}}

Brugmansia "Coral Glow"

href="http://s705.photobucket.com/albums/ww59/tropicalzone7/Yard%202011/?action=view&current=IMG_3498.jpg"; target="_blank">{{gwi:507663}}

Thanks for any advice or comments! I appreciate it!

-Alex

Comments (14)

• karyn1
    12 years ago