Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bulldinkie

I reas This Week Youre Not To Handle These????

bulldinkie
10 years ago

Says theyre toxic,how bad??

Comments (10)

• motaro
    10 years ago

You will explode if you touch them. This is what the Hypersensitive Overly Concerned Middle-Upper Class Soccermoms Association of America, or HOCMUCSAA, told me, so it must be true.

• carrie751
    10 years ago

HA ............. I like your sense of humor.

• kasha77
    10 years ago

I've been growing them for 4 years here in NC. I am not sensitive to them, and sometimes I wear gloves when handling them. I've heard of a few folks getting the juice in their eyes when stripping leaves off for fall storage. They've had pupil dilation, and I think blurred vision for 24 hours. These plants are in the tomato family, Solanacea. Peppers, potatoes, eggplants, tomatoes, all belong. These plants are toxic if eaten, but who'd want to?I prefer the fruit and flowers to the leaves any day!

• carrie751
    10 years ago

Do a search on plants that can cause irritation, and I think you will find it will include most all of them. We are wise enough to use them as intended and not try to test to see if they really are toxic. I don't worry about any of this........have enough to worry about with plain old poison ivy.

• mdahms1979
    10 years ago

The Solanaceous plants are toxic but many of them are grown in our vegetable gardens without raising the alarm. We grow Potatoes, Tomatoes, and millions smoke tobacco.

These plants are safe as long as you are careful. If you are cutting into the plant or doing anything that will cause exposure to sap then wear gloves. Never ingest any part of a Brugmansia or Datura, especially the seeds.