Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardengrove_ac

Best Solution for Spider Mites

gardengrove_ac
17 years ago

So my babies (ie. two unnamed brug plants) have spider mites, which I understand to be pretty much a commonplace thing during summer, but this is my first year and I'm really protective over my plants. The plants themselves are one year old cuttings that had been donated to me earlier in the spring. The plants were infested at first with whitefly and aphids, as the previous owner didn't really seem them as an issue and let it get massively out of control. I quelled that problem with safer soap and strong sprays of water from the hose. After I moved them out they have more than trippled in size. I MG them weakly every few days and dump bone meal in at monthly intervals. So far this year they are about three feet tall and two feet wide. Both have flowers or buds developing and plently of new "Y"s. They're doing great but I can tell that the leaves have mites. I even IDed them with my handlens so I know for sure. None of the leaves have more than a few mites though, nothing in too dire need. I've been spraying them off with water several times a day and it has helped a bit, but can anyone recommed something to get rid of them completely without making my plants drop all their leaves and buds? Is it really that serious of an issue, or will they go away once it starts to cool down again? Anything I can plant nearby (herb or vine wise) that deter mites? Any help appreciated.

Peace,

Nate

Comments (13)

• rain1950
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Homemade Insecticides [from various Web sites]

Lime Spray
    Target insects: Cucumber beetles, mites and general purpose.
    To make: Mix 1 ounce of hydrated lime, 32 ounces of water and 1 teaspoon of castille soap. Use up to twice a week.

Orange Peel Spray