Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tropic_lover

Question for northern Growers

Hi, I am fairly new to growing brugs and I have two that I have kept in pots and overwintered in my garage. My question is do you have more sucess keeping them in pots or do you plant them in the ground for the summer and then dig them up in the fall and repot them? I have kept mine in pots for a couple of years now and it seems like they get really root bound really quick and I can't keep putting them in bigger and bigger pots or eventually I won't be able to move them. Are they hard to dig up?

Linda

Comments (11)

• karyn1
    13 years ago

I think they do better inground unless you want to keep moving them up in pot sizes that are impossible to move without a hand truck. You can just sink a plastic nursery pot into the ground. You seal the bottom drainage holes and cut new holes in the sides of the container. That makes lifting them in the fall quite easy. You just take a sharp spade and cut away the roots that have grown out the holes and lift the pot.

• Linda's Garden z6 Utah
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for your response. I will try that next year. How big of pots do you use?

Thanks

Linda

• karyn1
    13 years ago

If I'm sinking them I usually keep them in a 10" pot. If they are going to remain in pots above ground they are usually in 25-30" pots which can be extremely heavy. When you lift the sunken pots you just need to trim back the branches a bit and strip the foliage or wait for it to drop before storing it. I set the pots that had been sunk into another pot that's just slightly bigger and pour soil around the sides to keep the roots that have been cut protected during dormancy.

• Dave in NoVA • N. Virginia • zone 7A
    13 years ago