Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gee8ch

Datura Info?

gee8ch
16 years ago

Hi All: Have become interested in growing Datura, esp. the doubles. Hope this is the forum to ask questions about them. Haven't found a sep. listing for them. Are they grown from seed or like brugs better from cuttings? How tall do they grow? Am thinking of planting them around my Brugs to soften the look of the woody trunks. Can they be left in the ground (So Cali) and do they die back? I feel another addiction coming on!! :-) Appreciate any info and help getting started. TIA Gloria

Comments (70)

• tropicalchris
    16 years ago

I have been growing datura for 3 years now and they are a blast!!! I found a great way to germinate the seeds by putting them in a tray of soil and wraping them with saran. I have more plants than I know what to do with and they are getting so big (about 7ft)! If you don't keep the flower on the plant you will have no seed. You have to be careful they don't fall off prematurly. I'm watching all my pod for next years crop and will cut them when they crack open and dry them in the house. I usually put them in an envelope (an ol used one will do) but not too many as the humidity could make them go bad. It takes time for them to open so I have to be patient but if I'm not watching every day I'm going to miss them and they will be all over the ground.

• darlene87
    16 years ago

Beth, if you have any seed left, I would love to have a few. I have better success with datura than brugs it seems. If you are out of seed, that will be ok, I can order from a catalog.
    Darlene

• beth7happy
    16 years ago

Darlene..have plenty of seed left. Please email me - but not via garden web.

• karyn1
    16 years ago