Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pelagikos14

Pink Brug bloom emerging green?

pelagikos14
13 years ago

Hey ya'll. I have my 1st brug bloom emerging. I'm new to this plant this year & I'm confused! The bloom is coming out lemon-lime green.... It was marked pink. I understand that the blooms can & do change color. But was curious to see if any of you long-timers could tell me if this looks like a possible 'pink', OR is it just too early to know?

Thanks so much!

Holly

http://www.flickr.com/photos/53248659@N08/4949

Comments (10)

• kasha77
    13 years ago

Hi Holly-
    For some reason I couldn't access your photo.
    But it sounds like your flower is normal to me. Mine do that too, then the next few days they turn to their right color. I think they are beautiful at every stage. Below are a few photos to show you what I mean- this is a young Dola bloom- I can't find a mature blossom photo at this time to show you how dark it gets.I do have a photo of it in a former post. Hope that helps!
    kasha77
    {{gwi:553553}}
    {{gwi:539376}}

{{gwi:553554}}

• karyn1
    13 years ago

That's not unusual at all. It might be fully open with the greenish color for a day before it starts pinking up. Congrats on your 1st bloom.

• pelagikos14
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Hey Kasha! I'm reposting the pic. Thank you for the photos. The first one is almost identical to the color I described. That is reassuring to me. I also like all the colors in brugmansias I've see, but wanted a pink. ;) You're pics are beautiful! And Karyn, thanks again for your info. I love GW! Such nice, helpful people here! :D

Here is a link that might be useful: pink brug bloom?

• pelagikos14
    Original Author
    13 years ago

It opened tonight!!! The smell is OTHERWORLDLY! I can't even begin to describe the scent, maybe lemony fading to Gardenia? I just love it.

Here is a link that might be useful: Day 3 Pink Noid brug bloom. YAYYyyYyyy!

• kasha77
    13 years ago