Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
corrie22

Single white that will bloom in the heat

corrie22
13 years ago

Guys, I have 'Charles Grimaldi' and it seems to not need as cool nights to bloom. It will bloom off and on all summer.

Do any of you guys know of a single white that might bloom for us down here in the summer? zone 11 Florida Keys

Thanks to all

Corrie

Comments (12)

• chena
    13 years ago

Temple Goddess is an awesome white and loves the heat!!

Kylie

{{gwi:563520}}

• corrie22
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks Kylie!

Can you tell me a little about it?
    Gets big?
    Stays smaller?
    Smells a lot?
    A little?
    Takes full sun all day?
    Afternoon shade?

My CG grows fast but doesn't smell much.

Corrie

• sultry_jasmine_nights (Florida-9a-ish)
    13 years ago

White suavs do well in the heat. I also have the temple goddess and it did good too.

• corrie22
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Sultry, thank you

I'm new to this and don't know the lingo.
    What is "suave"?

I tried looking up as many as I could on the internet last night.
    Right now, I sorta leaning towards "cypress gardens".
    From what I read, it can be trained smaller, blooms at a small size, and does great in pots.

I have a spot on a top shelf in the shade house where I might be able to train it to hang down.

Tell me what you guys think?

Corrie

• chena
    13 years ago

Corrie TG stays medium height 4~5' and blooms repeatedly. It bloomed in the house but I don't recall it being over whelming like a lot of them are..

Kylie

• corrie22
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks Kylie, I'm going to try that one too.

I have room for several in the shade house. I know, there's no such thing as room for only one plant. Can't be done.

I just found "suaveolens", now I know that word at least. I read that it's in the parentage of CG, and gives CG more heat tolerance.

Now I don't know what names to look for that have suav in them. LOL

I'm learning