Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ninamora_gw

First timer...fell in love

ninamora
14 years ago

hello everyone,

I am an absolute newbie to Brugs. Actually, I'm a daylily hybridizer. My neighbor has a half hardy deep yellow brug, that grows to 6' every summer and lives in our zone 6/7 garden. I was able to get two hard wood cuttings from her this month. I read how to start them and have them in my greenhouse. Now, just hoping and waiting for beginners luck. I fell in love with this plant. I may just keep them in big pots, as I have little room for anything but my daylilies, but oh this brugmansia is so BEAUTIFUL! I never saw anything like it. There were dozens of blooms on this creature.

Wish me luck

Nina in PA

Comments (13)

• gardenpaw
    14 years ago

Welcome and good luck Nina!
    Sounds like your on the way to a wonderful addiction!

Karen

• tommysmommy
    14 years ago

Be afraid, be very afraid. Nina you can't stop at just one, these things are addictive. Welcome to the club, I hope a 12 step program doesn't become necessary! :-P
    Diane

• PKponder TX Z7B
    14 years ago

and so it begins ;-)

Pam

• knotz
    14 years ago

Good luck from me too!!...There are LOTS of enablers here to keep you going with new cuttings if you want :)

knotz

• holleygarden Zone 8, East Texas
    14 years ago

I'm new, too. I purchased a brug cutting last year about this time, planted it, then left it. (it's not so cold here) It bloomed a couple of weeks ago - gorgeous, gorgeous, big, exquisite blooms! It was well worth the wait. Even DH was impressed!

So, good luck with your brug. You obviously have a green thumb and will be a good brug mama! :)

• gardenpaw
    14 years ago

Welcome Holleygarden!!!

Karen

• figara
    14 years ago

Welcome Nina and holleygarden !

Nina good luck with your brug.

Pat

• wickedwickedwitch
    14 years ago

We all got suckered in with the lure of a pretty plant. a cha cha.

• eloise_ca
    14 years ago