Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kasha77

OT- Bee keeping!

kasha77
12 years ago

Hi Folks! I've been wanting to start raising bees for years now. Hubby agreed that this spring will a great time, so I'm studying and hoping to find someone close by to mentor me. Anyone out there raising bees? I also read a post on here of someone who had angels trumpets that his bees visited, and he said all of his bees died. He didn't have the dead bees tested to see why. I am also concerned about the possibility of toxicity of honey that is made from brugs- anyone have any thoughts about this? My brugs were covered with honey bees this fall, they loved them! Any thoughts are appreciated!

Comments (12)

• Snooker
    12 years ago

I raised bees off and on for many years. I sold the hives in 2006, when we sold the family farm. At that time I had 24 hives.

Your best bet is probably to contact the North Carolina Beekeepers Association. (Are you in NC?) http://www.ncbeekeepers.org

They have county chapters, which have meeting and contact information. You can often buy hives and equipment from members at reasonable prices. Hopefully, you can also find a mentor.

• karyn1
    12 years ago

This same question was brought up somewhere else. Honey produced from bees feeding on brugs and dats is not toxic. I have a few friends that have apiaries and produce their own honey but they're all in MD. Isn't there a forum on GW about bee keeping?

• kasha77
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Hi Snooker-