Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lvtgrdn

My Butterfly Day (8/1/08)

lvtgrdn
15 years ago

I'm new here, and have posted a time or two. I posted this on the Cottage Gardening forum, but I don't think most of you are on that, and since I don't see Nell there much lately, I thought I'd post it here, too. I have been gardening for many years, and mentioned on a previous post about rue, that I like to pick plants that butterflies like, but want to be more intentional about host plants for caterpillars. Also, I am trying to learn to identify butterflies, but the ones I see, I don't always find in the books I have. Here's what I posted:

My Butterfly Day

Posted by lvtgrdn 5 (My Page) on Fri, Aug 1, 08 at 22:21

Wow! I saw more butterflies today than all week combined! What a blessing! It started out first thing this morning before I had my camera out. I saw two Monarchs, and they ended up eating next to each other on my white flowering Asclepias (milkweed). I so badly wanted to get my camera, but I knew they would be gone before I got back. I just enjoyed watching them awhile.

Next, I watered pots in the backyard and saw a very pretty butterfly that was a little smaller than the Monarchs and not a Swallowtail, which is what I have the most of around here. I couldn't remember it well enough to find it in my books later.

Later, I took my camera out and saw what I think is an Eastern Tiger Swallowtail. Here are some shots of it:

{{gwi:447670}}
{{gwi:447671}}
Another one flew over to the butterfly bush, but they didn't want to pose together. This is the other one:

{{gwi:447672}}