Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
butterflyman

Butterfly Plants for School Gardens

butterflyman
12 years ago

I've written an article on "Butterfly Plants for School Gardens." I'd appreciate your comments and ideas.

Here is a link that might be useful: School Butterfly Plants Link

Comments (4)

• brieninsac
    12 years ago

As a newbie myself, I liked it. I think you covered all the issues a school garden would face.

• KC Clark - Zone 2012-6a OH
    12 years ago

The lower the maintenance needed, the better chance the garden will still be there after five years.

I used to be a big supporter but have cooled on them since I've seen schools tear them out because no one is maintaining them. They are a waste of $ unless there is a teacher in place that is dedicated to keeping them going. Plus, in my area, the children rarely get to see any butterflies in the garden since they are on summer break when the garden is attracting butterflies.

In 2010, I got roped into putting together a grant proposal for a butterfly garden for my son's school. Fortunately, the grant did not come through. I say fortunately because the volunteers that currently maintain the current gardens at that school will soon disappear. The district is having $ troubles and will be discontinuing the program at that school that attracts involved parents. The PTA is totally gungho. Raises enough $ to pay for every school field trip. Last I saw, the PTA has $35k in the bank. But next school year, those parents will be spread throughout the district and that school may not even be open.