Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosyjennifer

Seed suggestions for school project/community garden

rosyjennifer
11 years ago

Hi. I am a second grade teacher. During our butterfly unit last year we learned about monarchs and how they have lost much of their habitat. The children were distressed and wanted to help.

Every year on Earth Day, 160 2nd grade students have delivered flowers and poems to the neighbors in our community. I thought this year we could plant milkweed seeds and deliver plants instead to make our community butterfly friendly. We have open spaces, woods, small man-made lakes in our town house community.

My questions are:
Is this a hair-brained idea? : )
Which milkweed seeds would be easiest to grow and then thrive in Maryland, Zone 7?
Which nectar plants would be easiest to grow from seed?

I am open to any suggestions.

Thank you!!

Comments (12)

• KC Clark - Zone 2012-6a OH
    11 years ago

The link at the bottom will show you a list of Maryland milkweeds. I suggest using common and swamp because those seeds will be the easiest to get. Be forewarned that common can take over a garden.

Butterfly weed seeds are also easy to find at stores. They are a good nectar plant for butterflies but I have yet to find a monarch caterpillar on a butterfly weed plant. YMMV

Here is a link that might be useful: Maryland Milkweed list

• KC Clark - Zone 2012-6a OH
    11 years ago

And while monarchs get most of the press, there are many other butterflies that would not mind if you planted some food for their caterpillars. At the bottom is a link for a list of Maryland butterflies and what their caterpillars eat, AKA hostplants. There is also a good hostplant list in the FAQ section here.

I suggest getting some hostplants for the butterflies that are common in your area (the linked sheet shows which are common).