Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wwtwwtwwt

New poster-couple questions-butterflies

wwtwwtwwt
10 years ago

I want to plant milkweed and nectar plants. I have already planted some seeds (last fall).
1. When should I plant Calotropis gigantus (plants and seeds)? Any suggestions for sources of plants?
2. There seems to be an overwhelming amount of info on what to plant, etc. I am just getting started. Any simple suggestions?
Thank you.

Comments (6)

• bernergrrl
    10 years ago

Hi there--So glad to have another butterfly gardener come on board!

The plant you mentioned I had to look up--looks like it is from Asia and is restricted to warmer zones? What state/region are you in--that can help a lot with recommendations.

There are many attractive native species of milkweeds for Monarchs--Swamp milkweed or Asclepias incarnata is a great one; it does like moist conditions, but can adapt to when it's a little drier. I usally supplement mine with water from my dehumidifier. It's planted with some Sweet Joe-Pye Weed too.

So, for starters, native milkweeds are good--they will come back year after.

But planting what you have now won't hurt anything since it won't survive your winters. I would wait until after frost to put out your plant, and maybe start the seeds indoors in a month or so if you have a situation to start seeds indoors.

You'll want to have some nectar plants to feed the adult butterflies--good ones to have are species of Coneflowers (echinaceas), Black-eyed Susans (Rudbeckia species), eupatoriums (Bonesets, Joe Pye Weeds), native asters and goldenrods for the very important fall nectar. It seems many areas in the U.S. have some relatives of these plants.

If Butterfly Bush is not invasive in your area, that is also another sure magnet for butterflies.