Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
curiositykat

Home made Caterpillar food for Cercropias?

curiositykat
12 years ago

I've been raising cercropia caterpillars for two years now. I have 18 cocoons in my parents garage ATM. I need to do an honors project/thesis for college this semester and would really like to do it about something interesting. I would setup a cage for a few of the cercropias on campus in a heartbeat. I'm in Wisconsin and these are native but I know not a lot of people see them. My problem is its currently winter and the moths will not naturally emerge in time. I don't mind bringing 6 of them inside and having them emerge early. But I know once they emerge they will mate and then lay eggs. I can cull all these if I need too, but I was wondering if anyone knows if there is a way to raise the caterpillars on a homemade food? I generally feed them wild cherry, but there will be no trees or anything to feed them from outside. I've seen those butterfly kits with the weird food for caterpillars, you think something similar can be made for cercropias?

Comments (5)

• KC Clark - Zone 2012-6a OH
    12 years ago

1) I just talked to DA MAN at Ohio State that raises insects year round for the university. He does not raise any silk moths off season, so no available advice.

2) I know of no artificial diet you can use with cecropias.

3) I tried to finish raising some cecropias last year on refrigerated walnut leaves. They would rather starve, which is what they did.

4) Cecropias are a 1 brood moth. Hence, their internal clock is more important than the temperature they are stored in. Bringing the cocoons inside is not going speed things up much, if at all. From my experience testing siblings, cecropias kept inside all winter may start eclosing 6 to 7 days before the ones that spent the winter out in the cold. Some of those inside cocoons will eclose after some of the outside cocoons start eclosing.