Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
butterguy

Ellen VS Evil

Tony G
13 years ago

Good evening,

I am new to the world of Butterfly Bushes. I am in zone 4b so growing them is a risk...but one I'm willing to take. :)

I am trying to decide between "ellen's blue" and "evil ways" for a back border behind my zinnia garden.

both of these sound like great cultivars. does anyone have a preference and, if so, why?

Thanks for your help, Tony

Comments (17)

• MissSherry
    13 years ago

I'm never heard of Evil Ways, but I sure do love Ellen's Blue - it's my favorite butterfly bush!
    {{gwi:456818}}
    Sherry

• bandjzmom
    13 years ago

Oh gosh you guys. I had forgotten all about Sherry's Ellen's Blue Butterfly Bush. NOW that you have reminded me, I am going to have to have one of those. I already have 11 butterfly bushes in my yard. Ya think I need another one? LOLOLOLOL OK, I looked it up, and the gorgeous Evil Ways even has golden leaves!!! Oh no. I shouldn't have looked. :o)

Here is a link that might be useful: Evil Ways Butterfly Bush

• Tom
    13 years ago

Can't find the Ellen's Blue at a reasonable price--nothing under $30 with shipping. Anyone know a vendor who sells it at a more reasonble cost?

• MissSherry
    13 years ago

The Botany Shop has it for $6.00, plus a minimum of $10 shipping costs. I've never ordered from them, so I can't speak to the quality of their plants - maybe somebody on this forum has ordered from them. If not, you can check Dave's Garden for their rating.
    Here's another picture -
    {{gwi:457888}}
    Sherry

Here is a link that might be useful: Botany Shop Ellen's Blue

• Tony G
    Original Author
    13 years ago

miss sherry, your beautiful photos have won me over!

I ordered ellen's blue and a "4 in 1" for another area.

I will let everyone know what my plants look like when they arrive. I requested shipping April 15...the snow better be gone by then!!! (it's been a long winter here)

• imabirdnut
    13 years ago