Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spiroan

Swallowtail Eggs

spiroan
10 years ago

Hi,

I think I have a black swallowtail egg on my dill plant. It is light green, and it is on the tip of one of the stalks. So, here are my questions.

First, should I take the egg inside and put it in an enclosure away from predators? Or should I leave it outside until it hatches? If I take it inside, do I just cut the stalk off the plant and put it in water?

Second, if I wait until it is a caterpillar to put it in an enclosure, do I keep the enclosure inside or outside?

I also want to say thanks to everyone who posts on this forum. This is my first year trying to butterfly garden, and I have already learned A TON of stuff by reading posts on here.

Comments (9)

• KC Clark - Zone 2012-6a OH
    10 years ago

Both the egg and a freshly hatched caterpillar are easy prey for many predators. I suggest saving the egg.

Outside enclosures should never get direct sun.

KC

Here is a link that might be useful: Raising black swallowtails

• Leafhead
    10 years ago

Where there is one Black Swallowtail egg, there usually are more.
    The ELF usually lays around 10 or more eggs per visit and generally visits 3 days in a row.
    Eggs take about 5-7 days to hatch and turn dark right before hatching. This is when fresh food should be offered.

• runmede
    10 years ago

Black Swallowtail eggs are a creamy yellow. See website below.

Here is a link that might be useful: Black Swallowtail egg color

• spiroan
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Interesting.....thanks for the posts. It very well may not be a black swallowtail egg then. I've checked my other dill plant as well as my fennel plants and have seen no other eggs. It is still there, and I'll continue to keep an eye on it, but it definitely doesn't seem to be yellow like the one on the link.