Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lindaw_cincy

question about milkweed

lindaw_cincy
11 years ago

I would like to have milkweed in my yard. Does it make a difference if I plant annual milkweed or perennial milkweed?

Comments (23)

• ericwi
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

We have three kinds of milkweed, A. tuberosa(butterfly weed), A. incarnata(swamp milkweed) and A. syriaca(common milkweed). They all die back in the fall, and they all have roots that survive the winter and support new plants in the following spring. I think they meet the definition of a perennial plant. Are there varieties of milkweed that die back completely and have to be re-seeded every year?

• KC Clark - Zone 2012-6a OH
    11 years ago

There are 15 species of milkweed native to Ohio. If any are annuals, it would be news to me but I'm no expert on all 15.

Besides the 3 listed above, we also have:
    A. amplexicaulis (clasping milkweed)
    A. exaltata (poke milkweed)
    A. hirtella (green milkweed)
    A. purpurascens (purple milkweed)
    A. quadrifolia (4 leaf milkweed)
    A. sullivantii (Sullivant's or prairie milkweed)
    A. variegata (redwing milkweed)
    A. verticillata (whorled milkweed)
    A. viridiflora (green comet milkweed)
    A. viridis (green antelopehorn)
    Ampelamus albidus AKA Cynanchum leave (honeyvine, sandvine)
    Matelea obliqua (climbing milkvine)

• terrene
    11 years ago

Linda, as a beginner I would plant one or more of the perennial species that Eric mentions. They are the most common, and in my experience, the easiest to grow. You could also add Tropical milkweed (Asclepias curassavica) which grows as an annual in zones 8 or colder. It is native to the American tropics, but Monarchs love to use it as a host plant. While you're waiting for the perennials to "grow up" (if you plant from seed or a small nursery plant), you can enjoy the faster growing annual.