Return to the Butterfly Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Moving a BuddleiaI

Posted by susanlynne48 OKC7a (My Page) on
Sat, May 14, 11 at 8:33

Has anyone done this and if so, was a successful move? I have one that I really need to move. It's getting too much shade. It's a Bicolor and I LOVE the blooms on it. I'm not sure how big the root ball is on it, and I'd like to know more about the root systems on Buddleias so I can get enough of it.

Thanks,

Susan

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Moving a BuddleiaI

I'm no expert, but here's my experience with moving buddleias. I've moved my one dwarf from the ground, to a container, to the ground, and to it's final location...in the ground. I've also moved a large Royal Red from the back of my house to front. I think that each move occurred in early spring. Some before the buds broke, and some not too long after. I would cut the branches all back to around 12 inches and dug up as much of a rootball as I could.

With the large Royal Red I was much more brutal. It had roots over an inch and a half thick in spots. I just broke through them with a shovel. There was no rootball. Just a bunch of roots. The soil didn't hold around them, but I planted it quickly and watered it in well. I do admit that the bush looked alright that season, but not nearly as leafy or flowerful as previous seasons. That was last season. Right now it is extremely lush like other years. It seems to have sprung back well.

Butterfly bushes appear to be VERY resilient. Even so, I would wait until early Spring if you can since you probably already have a large plant nearing blooming size. That would put a lot of stress on it. Best bet: Move it just after you prune the branches down in early Spring. Around here in zone 6b that time is March.
Kim

Here is a link that might be useful: My veggie and flower garden

o