Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
curiositykat

rinsing leaves, Anyone else experienced this?

curiositykat
11 years ago

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BlU9fL0ILYM&feature=youtu.be

I lost 1/3 to 1/2 of my cecropia cats after around 15-30 minuets of adding fresh leaves. They are still currently dying... I pulled pretty much all the food and replaced it as soon as I realized something was wrong. They started throwing up and spazzing out. Anyone else ever experience something like this? The pesticide was misquito-be-gone or something. I cut them from my parents yard when I was visiting, but they were not around otherwise i would of asked if they had sprayed anything. Didn't really think they sprayed since I cut some last week from there and it was fine. Then it has been raining so much lately.

Also question: How effective is rinsing before hand? Sometimes I do, sometimes I don't. I didn't this time and learned my lesson. I have been raising them for 3 years and never had an issue like this. Is rinsing really effective at removing pesticides or are there some it can not remove? I either get my leaves from my parents yard or from walk trails around my apartment and university.

Comments (4)

• KC Clark - Zone 2012-6a OH
    11 years ago

Sounds like an opportunity to check on what rinsing can do. You could spray some other leaves with the same stuff. Perform different levels of rinsing (rubbing each leaf under running water vs. just running water over the leaves) and then feed some to the guinea pigs. That way you could find out what you need to be doing with regards to rinsing. You might also find out that rinsing would not have helped.

If you are going to raise that many cecropias, I suggest either a lot more containers or much bigger containers.