Return to the Butterfly Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Just a joyful ramble.

Posted by docmom z5 MI (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 2, 11 at 6:40

I've been wanting to post, but didn't want to bore everyone. But, too bad. I'm just so excited about this year's butterflying potential. I've been growing butterfly plants for at least ten years, but finally have a house with a yard/garden large enough to support a great diversity of plants. Last year I finally had Monarch eggs and cats in my own yard and successfully raised more than 50 Monarchs and about 15 BST butterflies. I think I saw a Red Admiral? Is that their name? I don't have much time to spend identifying and observing. I just provide the environment. Fast forward to this spring. I know most people are frustrated by all the rain we've had, but I'm thrilled. I have literally thousands of volunteer native seedlings sprouting in my garden beds, and the rain has allowed them to flourish. I can't imagine how many butterflies I'll attract this year! I'd attempt to list my plants, but my daughter wants to use the computer before she leaves for school. Just wanted to share my excitement. Happy Gardening!

Martha

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Just a joyful ramble.

I don't blame you for being excited, I would be excited too. I have been raising Monarch since 2007, last year I raised 617! I hope to raise BST also, planted dill and fennel in hopes to attract some. Have a fun year!

o

Martha, Congratulations on your garden and its flourishing this year! It does make a person so happy, and we can all share in your joy.

Regarding the identifying, I started taking pictures and identifying when I had a little downtime. It adds a dimension to the enjoyment, but I get the time at a premium issue, particularly if you work.

Look forward to hearing more about your garden and butterflies. You can't bore us. ;)

o